Creation and Afterlife, Before and After


So about religion. You knew I’d get there sooner or later, right? Yeah. It’s a subject that holds a lot of importance in my life, and since I’ve decided to splay my life across the screen here…Let me clarify. MY religion/spirituality is important to me. Yours is not. Nor should it be. It’s yours. Do or do not do whatever you please with it.

When I had my store in that very small-minded town in the midwest, it was well-known, far-and-wide that I was not a Christian. I guess the pentacle I wore all the time gave that away. But even had I not been that brazen, I suppose that the fact that I had Buddha candleholders for sale, or the giant “COEXIST” painted across the wall with symbols from different religions might have given it away. (Ooooooh…the flak I got from the Islamic symbol!)

At any rate, there was a point in time when the local private Christian school forces their teenage students to take a class in “Christian Apologetics.” In this class, these students are supposed to interview an non-Christian. There’s apparently a huge shortage of non-Christians in this city…one kid came in to the store and asked to interview me. That was fine with me. When the second one came in, I protested…and suggested that if he just waited I could get him an atheist, a Buddhist, an Hindu or even a Wiccan for the interview. But no, he wanted to talk to me. I thought that was a little silly, interviewing the same person twice when there were many others available, but went ahead at his insistence.

What I remember of this interview…isn’t much, honestly. But there were two questions that struck me as just plain silly. The first was about creation, the second about the after-life.

Why do I think this is silly? Well, the questions themselves aren’t silly. A lot of time has been spent meditating on these questions. Scientists have spent hours, days, years, studying these questions. Philosophers have killed people over it. Well, almost. Philosophers have incited other people to kill people for these questions, how’s that? The point being that I understand these are deep, difficult questions. Deep, difficult questions that we don’t know the answers to.

As much fun as it is to research and debate the beginning of existence or it’s end, we won’t know if we were right or not until we’re not existing ourselves anymore. And that’s what I told him.

Why do we argue about this? It’s just another opinion that divides. Whether we evolved from single celled organisms, were dropped off by aliens, or created by some monotheistic deity…does it really matter? Do you have to be right? Whether or not heaven or hell exists, if we reincarnate or if we just cease to be and dissolve back into the earth…none of us are going to know for sure until we’re dead.

There are enough problems in the world without creating any. Make up your mind, decide what you believe, and leave it at that. Discuss it with friends, debate it with colleagues, but let’s not kill each other over it, okay? I know I’m in no rush to find out if I’m right or not.

About Camylleon

I don't need gurus, and sure don't want to be one. I'm not here to buy stuff or to sell it. I am just another spiritual wanderer, trying to figure it all out. My blend? A little Santeria, a little Polytheism, a little Spiritism and shake gently. Comments are closed...because I detest drama. I'm not completely anti-social though. If you've got questions, shoot me a email. Camylleon at hotmail dot com...
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

