Writing about Writing


When I first started this blog, I was delusional. No, really. Completely out of my mind. See, I had begun creatively writing for the first time in almost 20 years. I had finally fleshed out what I thought was a decent enough plot-line to pursue. It had become the first three chapters of something I thought might be a book. I began this blog to write about writing, and then got horribly distracted. Because I like writing, just not always about writing.

Just before I opened up this blog, I’d read some webpage out there or another about some cute little 20-something who’d written several books and made bunches of money off of them. The difference? They were allllll self-published. And I thought…well, I’m not as young as her. I’m not as cute as her. I may not be able to sell as many copies as her because I’m not…and therefore I’m not as hip about this Internet thing as she is. But it could help. Right? If it comes down to it, and I end up self-publishing, I might be able to sell more than the 10-20 copies I’d be able to sell to friends and family (if that, as some of them will assume I’ll just give them copies because they’re my friends. Sigh.)

I’m horrible at marketing. Truly. I was horrible at the store. I couldn’t push anyone to buy the jewelry I’d made. I just couldn’t up-sell myself. I could sell the hell outta anyone else…because I can wax on for hours about the virtues of anyone else’s art work. Just not mine. So please relax; this blog will never become a “buy my book” type blog. I just don’t have it in me. At the same time, I do feel an impulse to share that part of my life as well. It is, after all, a pretty big part of it.

I know I’m mixing things up here. Ideally, you’re supposed to open a blog and choose one topic to specialize in. I just can’t disconnect myself like that. I am a writer. I am a pagan. I am a witch. I have a family. I have opinions and feelings about everything I come in contact with. I’m not about to start refraining myself now…so too bad. I’m going to keep going with this as it is. All mixed up. Because I like it that way.

The other reason I haven’t written much before now about writing is simply because I’m a bit confused. What could I write about the book that wouldn’t give it all away? How am I supposed to “tease” the audience-to-be? Not my bag, I’m afraid. I do think I could discuss the process itself, though. And maybe the characters and the character creation since that’s my favorite part. The characters and the dialog. I have to admit scenery and action are things I struggle with. I think I’ve got it…but I keep going over it, working harder at it. I don’t want to give away key plotlines…not just because you’d never buy the book that way, but because someone else might beat me to it. Okay, that’s just my paranoia talking. I caught it from my husband.

I can write about that, now can’t I? I mean the process, the struggle, not the paranoia.

I’ve been having a bit of difficulty with this blog. Not because I have nothing to say, but because I have too much. I never know what to tackle when. Also, I have lousy internet service generally, so there are days I can’t get online at all. In that light, I’ve made a decision…

I’m not going to separate out all the different facets of my personality by opening up twenty more blogs. That would just confuse me more. Instead, I’m going to divide up the week. Whenever I want to blog about something, I’ll consider the subject matter and schedule it to post on the appropriate day. Have I mentioned that I’m horribly obsessive about organization? Yeah. That’s another story altogether. So I’m going to approach each weekday to a different subject…if I haven’t anything to say on that subject, I won’t post that week. I might have a lot of things to say on a subject and have 10 different blogs lined up for 10 successive Wednesdays, you never know. I’m sure there will be the occasional spontaneous post as well. Things like that whole banana bread incident. I’d already posted that day, had no plans to post again but when the banana bread happened I simply had to share. I’m glad I did. When the results started coming in I had to post again. I’m glad I did.

(By the way, Brother T’s family is hosting Festivus this year for sure…ha! Should be interesting)

This might make it a bit easier as well for my friends who want to know some things and not others. I know there’s a couple of subscribers who are more interested in my battle with diabetes than they are my spell work. There are those that are opposite, as well. If I can get into a pattern of blogging about certain things on certain days, I think everyone wins. If I can stick to it. Which is a different story altogether.

So here we go. Technically, this should have been posted yesterday (I’m not so anal-retentive that I can’t ignore that, but it’s close…). I couldn’t sign on yesterday afternoon, so it’s going out today. But in the future, I’ll be writing about writing on Wednesdays. Gotta love alliteration, right?

I’ll figure out the rest of the pattern later. I feel better already having figured out this much!

About Camylleon

I don't need gurus, and sure don't want to be one. I'm not here to buy stuff or to sell it. I am just another spiritual wanderer, trying to figure it all out. My blend? A little Santeria, a little Polytheism, a little Spiritism and shake gently. Comments are closed...because I detest drama. I'm not completely anti-social though. If you've got questions, shoot me a email. Camylleon at hotmail dot com...
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing about Writing

  1. Kudos to you for coming up with a plan! I am so super organized in many aspects of life, but blogging is not one of them! I have done pretty well with my weekly check-ins on Mondays and I’m trying to stay on top of the Saturday Sharing, but otherwise, my blog is definitely a hodgepodge.

    At any rate, I enjoy whatever you write and will continue to read whatever you post (even if it takes me a couple of weeks to catch up)!

    • Camylleon says:

      …and of course I come up with this plan just as my laptop decides to DIE. *sigh* But I WILL RETURN! And then I will enact this plan. I think. Most likely. Highly probably. Maybe. Yeah. LOL.

      Glad to have you as an avid reader…I will definitely be back, probably after the 11th to continue working on this blog o’mine. Don’t mind me if I’m gone…I’ll catch up with yours as well when I return1

Leave a Reply

