Looks Like I Hit a Nerve! Completely Unscheduled Post!


NOTE: Please see this post https://camylleon.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/to-err-is-human/ for an appropriate and necessary apology for some of the contents of this post! Thank you!

Bam! I knew it would happen someday. It was just likely to. Partly because the written word is given to misinterpretation…and I don’t mean of meaning, I mean of feeling…and partly because there are a lot of people out there with a need to be important.

Now, I’m not going to link to the blog which vents about me because quite honestly she didn’t do me the courtesy of posting the link. In fact, I was subscribed (“following”) her page, but she was not following mine. No biggie. I figure…if you wanna, you wanna, right? So if she wasn’t following mine, how do I know it was mine that she was ranting about? No, I’m not paranoid. It was definitely mine.

The rant referred to my post,  https://camylleon.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/apostrophic-disasters-or-what-i-hate-about-fantasy-fiction/, in which I commented about what I really hate in fantasy writing. And just to reiterate: It’s what I hate about fantasy fiction writing, not what YOU hate in fantasy fiction writing. I honestly don’t give a rat’s ass what you read in fantasy fiction writing. Or even if you read fantasy fiction.

Let me repeat that again, “what I really hate.” It was by no means a reading guide or an insistence that I somehow know more than others. *shrug* And to clarify again, I also didn’t mean to infer that I will never again read any fiction that happens to include one, or all of those peeves. It may happen. I doubt it, I sincerely do…because there is an awful lot of excellent fantasy fiction out there in the world (billions and billions of books) for me to spend my time on which doesn’t include any of them. At all.

Truth is, this wonder kid probably found this post because of a comment I’d made on another blog. I was sincerely trying to help…for those of you to whom I’ve commented, you’ll know I’m sincere. My comment was ignored by the person who posted this, but she did make a very authoritative comment below it, basically marking this person as her territory.

Ok, fine, I got the hint. I’ll not comment on her posts anymore if that’s the way you feel about it. I seriously didn’t mean to intrude on some sort of sacred teacher/student ritual you had going on there. Fact is, the person who wrote that blog is someone I’ve been following and who also follows me, so I thought we were developing a relationship, a friendship, a common bond over the crazy world of spirituality that we both seem to walk in. That’s what I’m here for.

Of course, the ranter in question…the one who rather blatantly ignored my comment on the other page yet who decided to completely torpedo my post without the courtesy of posting a link…does happen to sell things. Gee…maybe she’s worried her income is threatened? Oh…sorry, just me being paranoid. Likely she writes, too, and probably writes dreadful fantasy fiction involving sparkly vampires. No…she writes fan fiction involving sparkly vampires.

For the record, I have absolutely nothing against fan fiction. Why? Because the people who write it know what they’re doing, and why. I know it seems contrary to what I posted before, but the fact is that they’re openly admitting what they’re doing. For some reason to me, that makes it all okay. So what I said above was written with my tongue lodged securely in my cheek. Not that you could tell as I was writing it and not speaking it! 😉

You know, I would have thought I would have pissed someone off about something else. The threefold law, comments about Wiccans, my instinctive-but-not-traditional methods of dealing with Spirits…but, no. I managed to piss someone off by simply stating my preferences in fantasy fiction.

And I will never hide the fact that I was brought up on faerie stories and fantasy, nor the fact that this influences how I do magic. Nor does it make my magic any less powerful or serious.

…and if you’d bothered to read anything but that post, you’d know that I was too. I don’t believe it would make your magic any less powerful or serious…although if you use the Dr. Seuss rhyming pattern, I will admit I would have a very difficult time not laughing. Sorry. It doesn’t mean your magic isn’t powerful if you do…that just happens to make me giggle.

Honestly, as much as I don’t like sparkling vampires, until I have the $$$ that Stephanie Meyer has in her bank, I don’t think I’ve got anything to say about someone’s ideas about how vampires should be.

So you don’t criticize people who make a lot of money off of books? Or you just have respect for media that becomes popular? Because the average writer doesn’t make any more per year than a public school teacher. Stephanie Meyer and JK Rowling are anomalies, not the norm. By reading and respecting only those works that make bank, you’re missing a whole lot of other books out there. Seriously. No wonder you rise to the defense of the banal. And just because someone made money on an idea doesn’t mean that it’s good. In fact, often it’s the opposite. How many books were pushed to the side in this “Twilight” mania? How many authors have been pushed into coming up with lame young adult fiction that has vampires or werewolves in it because it’s “hot?” How many authors have been taking advantage of this phenomena and cranking out even more worthless pieces of crap? Because of a fad.

Yes, many of the people who read series like Harry Potter and Twilight may become interested in reading other novels as well. But with desperate publishing houses pushing authors to create cookie cutter imitations of Twilight and Harry Potter, will they ever dare to set foot outside? Will they ever wander over into the truly classic Science Fiction and Fantasy? Or will they find what they think they’re looking for…what the publishers are telling them they’re looking for.

As the absolute ultimate defense of my undying hatred for Twilight and the righteousness of that hatred, I bring you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvTCr5Z-0lA

That’s right, because George Takei says so.

About Camylleon

I don't need gurus, and sure don't want to be one. I'm not here to buy stuff or to sell it. I am just another spiritual wanderer, trying to figure it all out. My blend? A little Santeria, a little Polytheism, a little Spiritism and shake gently. Comments are closed...because I detest drama. I'm not completely anti-social though. If you've got questions, shoot me a email. Camylleon at hotmail dot com...
This entry was posted in Emotional and Personal Reflections, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Looks Like I Hit a Nerve! Completely Unscheduled Post!

  1. FlyingPoppet says:

    Okay, okay…so much to say here.

    First, though, let me say THIS: “Completely Unscheduled Post?” COMPLETELY UNSCHEDULED POST?! Oh my gawd, how I envy you your organizational skills and dedication to a schedule! (And I’m not joking, either!) I mean, I know that you have specific days dedicated to specific topics and all, but the ramifications of this post title just sent me reeling. Unscheduled post! Sister, all my posts are unscheduled! I salute you! (And yes, I am posting this to lighten the mood, but NO it’s not “just a joke” — you’re awesome in that regard!)

    Second, let me say THIS: Hooly dooly, of all the things you’ve posted that I’ve read, I would have pegged your fantasy fiction post as the *least* controversial of the lot! It wasn’t saying “this person is a bad author/person because he or she includes this peeve of mine.” It wasn’t even saying “people who like X are bad readers or silly readers or have no taste.” It was just your preferences, for goodness sake.

    Third, and probably most importantly, let me say THIS: What the hell? People have to earn a specific amount of money from a concept before they can have an opinion of it? I will repeat the quote you listed:
    “…until I have the $$$ that Stephanie Meyer has in her bank, I don’t think I’ve got anything to say about someone’s ideas about how vampires should be.”
    How the hell does that work, exactly? How much must one earn before one can state an opinion on a topic or issue? Must one earn more than the person to which one dares to express one’s opinion? Must it just be a percentage? If so, how much? And if this is the case, how has academia flourished in the past? Did one submit one’s bank balance prior to submitting a paper? The mind boggles, it really does.

    Anyway, I’ll wander off now, because I could ramble about my third point for a couple of hours.

    This has been a completely unscheduled comment…:D

    • Camylleon says:

      POPPET! I LOVE YOU!!!! 😀

      Yes, I’m a Capricorn…and a child of Obatala. I can’t help it. I’m OCD. I schedule posts. Ask Mousie about the straightpins sometime…(never mind, I’ll blog about that someday. It’s become an inside joke…the perfect example of how OCD I can really be!) Truth be told, I added the “Completely Unscheduled Post” on the title because I, too, feel my compulsive behavior should be mocked. *grin*

      And thank you, yes…I thought this would have been one of the least controversial posts I could have written. *sigh*

      The whole money thing boggles my mind as well. Yes, I will probably be muttering about this myself for a loooong time. Although have you ever seen Craig Fergusson’s imitation of Stephanie Meyer and JK Rowling? Its worth youtubing (<–omygod its a verb now). My favorite…"MONEY FIGHT!"

      Truthfully, the poster had a decent point or two about original ideas…and some interesting quotes from famous peoples…but I wasn't going to do her the courtesy of posting her link since she couldn't be bothered to post mine. Especially when she was in general so completely bitter toward me, tearing me a "new one" so to speak…and still couldn't be bothered to post my link. Heaven forbid her readers actually find and read my blog…!

      As always, unscheduled comments are completely welcome!

    • Aubs Tea says:

      If you try to enter the vampire writing craze, shitting on the current leader of said genre is not a good idea. You’re more likely to be black-balled. I still adamantly profess that my vampire don’t sparkle, though.

      • Camylleon says:

        Well, I feel that horse has been beaten, so I won’t be joining in on the vampire craze. Glad to hear your vampires don’t sparkle! I like to think there are still people out there creative enough to follow their own ideas on these things. It doesn’t have to be a dead horse. In fact, in my original post I pointed out I loved a Mercedes Lackey book which had three different types of vampires…one of which was, indeed sexy. Yes, she had a sexy vampire. No, I don’t believe they should be sexy. But she redeemed herself through excellent writing, characters and plot…and two other types of exceedingly frightening vampires. It was very creative! So I’m thinking yours could be as well.

  2. Kitten says:

    Wow. So nobody can get respect as an author, writer, creator of fictional, wonderful fantasy worlds, without being the next Stephen King? Well, shit.
    Actually, this is why I prefer blog-writers (as in people who post stories on blogs): no publishing house to deal with, it’s their raw, original creative stories, no bullsnot.

    Wanna know my pet peeve? People who call others out and then run from confrontation about their actions. People need to man up (yes, us ladies too) and take responsibility for what they say. If you’re calling someone out on something, DO IT. Don’t be vague, then indirectly attack that someone for retaliating. It’s going to happen, by default. That’s how the real world, outside their sparkly fanvamp world, works. Eddie isn’t here to stop it.

  3. Camylleon says:

    The publishing world’s in turmoil at this point, anyway. I have the suspicion (but no real proof) that much of it has to do with the desperate way they promote the latest “fad” because it does make money. The younger publishing houses…which are often Epublishers only…don’t fall into those quagmires. They’re out there searching for unique and interesting ideas the way the larger houses used to. In other words, the larger publishing houses are starting to lose their edge. They’re going to have to shape up or die…same with the book stores. Again, my own completely unproven theory is that relying on these types of fads is what drove Borders into the ground.

    • Kitten says:

      Publishers and bookstores underestimate us. They don’t realize that it really IS just a passing fad – even for those in the fandoms, I’d imagine.

  4. ljwitch says:

    I certainly hope that person never reads my blog then, because I have a whole post planned for how much Twilight sucks, how much Stephanie Meyer sucks, and I don’t care if she has more money in the bank than Donald freaking Trump, she still sucks.

    The reason those books sell is because they’re targetted to pre-teen girls. Anyone who denies that, isn’t reading properly. The reason the movies sell well is because we are nothing but mindless consumers anymore. People will do see a movie, even though they know it’s going to be a piece of shite, and they’ll keep dumping their money down the rat hole because that’s what we’re conditioned to do in America. Those movies have nothing in them of value, neither do the books.

    Here’s a good dissection of what Twilight really is and what they’re really reading.
    http://dayofwoman.blogspot.com/2010/09/stephenie-meyer-single-handedly-pushing.html
    Not written by me, but that woman should get a medal for brilliance.

  5. Jessica says:

    You’re right, angry people ARE funny! (I saw your earlier post heehee) You can post anything you want about what YOU like and what you hate, and it’s nobody’s business. Secondly, something blew my mind in the excerpt you put up there from the person who attacked you. It says “And I will never hide the fact that I was brought up on faerie stories and fantasy, nor the fact that this influences how I do magic. Nor does it make my magic any less powerful or serious.”

    Perhaps I am slow. I just don’t remember you saying anything at all in your posting about how your like or dislike of certain type of fiction has a damn thing to do with magical work. I certainly don’t recall you ever saying that someone who does like sparkling, or fluffy, or apostrophes or stupid spelling nightmares is, by definition, bad at their magical practice. Some people can’t be happy until they’re offended, even if they have to jack something all out of its original meaning so they can get mad about it.

    Carry on, dear. Those of us who have developed past emotional age 14 are still reading and loving you.

    ps: Evidently this person has not been introduced to the concept of “literary criticism” which has nothing at all to do with how much money the author made.

    • Camylleon says:

      Thank you, Jessica! Man, I am FEELING THE LOVE around here, and loving it!

      No, I never said one word about fiction influencing magic in that blog. I actually thought I’d written in one of my verrrrry early blogs quite the opposite. I was raised by a mother who was obsessed with English literature (the “Matter of Britain” was HUGE in our house), and always clapped for Tinkerbell. My dad read Tolkien to us when I was in…3rd grade, I think. Probably around the same time I was reading the Narnia series myself. In fact, I would say that fantasy writing has been influential on my magic as well…

      In fact, ironically, this theory is rather influential on the book I am working on. How belief affects reality…and what we read (or more importantly what we watch on screen) affects what we believe…which then affects our reality. Of course, I don’t mention that in this book…but it’s in the background. Might be revealed some day…if I ever finish it and start on sequels…lol! (After all, *all* good fantasy is published in triologies. Sometimes even four or five book trilogies…! )

  6. Pingback: To Err is Human | Camylleon's Cave

  7. Camylleon says:

    For the record, I am standing by this post as well as the original. I mean…aside from the personal jabs, which were unnecessary and harsh…bordering on downright rude. I know better than that. I made it out of kindergarten, for Pete’s sake. However…

    I still think apostrophes are often abused. I still stand by the annoyance with overly-exotic names, and I still stand by my original complaint about lack of originality. I think the blog post that criticized my criticism missed an important detail about that. I did *not* say people can’t use elves and such…I referred to it as Tolkien (or D & D) abuse. Simply that authors should make it *their own*. Mix it up a bit. Give it a twist. Of course, from that perspective, Stephanie Meyers is okay…(*shudder* I can’t believe I just wrote that) but then, that might be the only context in which she is acceptable.

    And once and for all, I still think that creatures of horror belong in horror. I did allow in the original post for the exception…even referring to a Mercedes Lackey FANTASY novel that had vampires.

    For every “rule” there is an exception.

    And again, this is what bothers ME…not YOU. I do NOT mean to impress my opinions and my standards upon anyone else at all. I expect others to have different opinions. I expect my opinion to be respected as what it is. I also expect myself to respect other opinions, which is something I will try to do more proficiently in the future.

Leave a Reply

