To Err is Human


And, as we all know, I am human. I received a rather intelligent, kind and considerate email from, of all people, the person whose post I was ranting about in https://camylleon.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/looks-like-i-hit-a-nerve-completely-unscheduled-post/. It’s wonderful to know that there are people like her in the world… people with manners, and who know how to politely tell you when you’re being an ass.

She has taken her original post down, I believe. Not because I demanded it. In fact, I would have rather she left it up. Not so that we could all go over there and bash it but because I would have liked the chance to discuss some of the points she did bring up, and to defend myself eloquently instead of turning the bitch-mode on, which is what I did.

I will not be apologizing here for most of what I wrote. Because most of it was simply emphasizing the point that the entire blog,  https://camylleon.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/apostrophic-disasters-or-what-i-hate-about-fantasy-fiction/, was my opinion. Which it was. And is. And I still stand behind it.

What I will apologize for…and REALLY NEED TO APOLOGIZE FOR was the line that I crossed. Because I let it get personal.

Truth is, this wonder kid probably found this post because of a comment I’d made on another blog. I was sincerely trying to help…for those of you to whom I’ve commented, you’ll know I’m sincere. My comment was ignored by the person who posted this, but she did make a very authoritative comment below it, basically marking this person as her territory.

Ok, that was completely unnecessary. And rude. Although it was true that was how she’d found my post…the inference that she was somehow a guru was a misinterpretation of my own. She’d hit a trigger of mine. I hate people who steamroll over me, ignore me, and in general give me the “guru vibe.” She had no intentions of giving me that vibe. Turns out she’s an alright sort of gal, just trying to help. Just like me. So…yeah…I don’t know if “I’m sorry” will cut it, but I am.

And this…

Of course, the ranter in question…the one who rather blatantly ignored my comment on the other page yet who decided to completely torpedo my post without the courtesy of posting a link…does happen to sell things. Gee…maybe she’s worried her income is threatened? Oh…sorry, just me being paranoid. Likely she writes, too, and probably writes dreadful fantasy fiction involving sparkly vampires. No…she writes fan fiction involving sparkly vampires.

Was completely and utterly unnecessary, bordering on the edge of hostile. Yes, it was funny…but at someone else’s expense. Which should never, ever be acceptable. Unless I’m making fun of Twilight. Which I guess she hates, too, despite appearing to defend it. *shrug* She apparently took that side because she thought I was implying that I hate the entire genre. That I don’t read. That it’s all crap. Well, no. I certainly didn’t mean to give that impression, and I certainly thought that I didn’t.

The problem is, for all of us here in blog-land, that we can only control what we put out. We can’t control how it is received, interpreted, or processed. What we have here is a whole lot of miscommunication. Lines were crossed, feelings were unnecessarily hurt.

And instead of removing the posts and pretending the whole thing didn’t happen, I’m going to suck it up and admit that I went over the line, and I am publicly very, very sorry. I haven’t linked her to this post because I do not know whether or not she wants her name/blog to be public. She might be nervous that she’d get slammed with rude comments. I’d be nervous myself…although I know my readers here aren’t that sort…if I didn’t know them…yeah, I’d be nervous. So here’s my offer. If she wants people to know who she is, all she has to do is comment on this blog. If she doesn’t want it known, there’s only three of us who will ever know, and it will eventually become dust.

In the meantime, I am truly, utterly, ashamedly sorry that I let my wit and temper get the better of me, and I’m hoping we can put this behind us (maybe laugh at it someday) and even become friends.

Hell, if Star Wars and Star Trek fans can get along, isn’t there hope for all of us?

About Camylleon

I don't need gurus, and sure don't want to be one. I'm not here to buy stuff or to sell it. I am just another spiritual wanderer, trying to figure it all out. My blend? A little Santeria, a little Polytheism, a little Spiritism and shake gently. Comments are closed...because I detest drama. I'm not completely anti-social though. If you've got questions, shoot me a email. Camylleon at hotmail dot com...
This entry was posted in Emotional and Personal Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Err is Human

  1. Pingback: Looks Like I Hit a Nerve! Completely Unscheduled Post! | Camylleon's Cave

  2. FlyingPoppet says:

    You know, you all are being disappointingly level-headed. We’re never going to get a mention on the Fandom Wank site at this rate!

    Seriously, though, it’s refreshing to see such civility online. Keep on keeping on!

    • Camylleon says:

      Wow. First you call me sane…now I’m being disappointingly level-headed? Sheesh! I’ll have to redeem myself, here.

      Seriously, thank you for the support. It’s nice to have the civility recognized. The train wreck got me sooooo many hits, and it was in reality depressing. I had a choice; keep being me and use this blog as I had originally intended OR go for popularity and keep blasting away. I took the former. I’d rather be anonymous and me than popular and some sort of blogging Howard Stern (or whatever the newest version of that is!).

      • The Swamp Witch says:

        God dammit we’re gonna have to try harder.

        Wait, when did spirituality become a fandom!? (It really DOES seem to be that way, doesn’t it? My Gods are better than YOUR Gods and my magic is hella more kewlz than yours, man!)

        • Camylleon says:

          Yeah, Swamp Witch. Obviously, we’re not pissing off enough people! What were we thinking? Being CIVIL? This is America…we’re never CIVIL! <–sarcasm, naturally.

          I thought that's what Poppet was referring to at first. But then I thought, "hey, that's capitalized. Maybe its a webpage?" And sure enough… http://www.journalfen.net/community/fandom_wank/

          Its apparently a site that posts the most heinous of the pissing and moaning that fans are likely to spew. I think I'm in love.

          But then, maybe you're onto something. If there's a Fandom Wank site, why not PANTHEON WANK? or PAGAN WANK? Then we really could go off with the "my God could curse your God" (or "My tradition is better than your tradition") bs that tends to haunt every single pagan/Wiccan/whatever alternative religion site. Sheesh. I doubt people would stop it if we start making fun of it, but at least I know I'd have fun with it…

  3. FlyingPoppet says:

    Oh dear oh dear! There used to be a Pagan Wank! It was hosted on LJ, if I recall correctly.

    The write-ups just weren’t as funny as the FW write-ups, though. I just checked and I can no longer find the Pagan Wank community. That’s a good sign, right?

    • Camylleon says:

      I suppose it’s good that it’s not there…? Maybe? Because I do enjoy making fun of wankers, I admit. And there are lots of them in the pagan community who deserve it. HOWEVER…if it just wans’t funny enough, I guess maybe it needs better management? Not that I’m signing up for it or anything. Sheesh. One train wreck a year’s about all I can take!

      I should say that it’s a good thing that it is gone. Pagans in general get enough bad press and have plenty of witch wars *without* help, thank you!

      • FlyingPoppet says:

        A favorite quote from one of the examples and then I’ll quit:

        “Not that I totally disagree with you about pagans in general, but I kind of like the fluffy little guys. Makes me happy. A lot of religions have fanatics and loonies that pick up weapons and shoot people. Pagans have fanatics and loonies that swear they’ll throw fireballs and then stare really hard at their quartz crystals, which keeps them and everyone else out of harm’s way and reduces the need for Ritalin.” — Larathia

Leave a Reply

