Deep Thoughts from Strange Sources: Music Monday


Who’d have thought to find intelligence, with, and philosophical brilliance in a Russian gypsy punk band? Well, I would…but then, I’m weird. One of my favorites from Gogol Bordello…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtkGgp4sNp0

….and now I feel like getting funky. It doesn’t matter which version of this song you like, the lyrics are bang-on. First, the original…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcwyyFOeu5E

I really like this vid clip better; whoever did this did a smashing job of matching the pictures & lyrics, and using a font that seemed to match the feel of the song. I don’t know that I agree with everything in this song, but then that wasn’t the point. I agree with a lot of it…and regardless of what I think, the world does, indeed, keep on turning.

I’m not big on remakes generally but every now and then there’s the exception…a band that gets the song, adds their own kick and comes up with something that is more an homage to the original than a remake…like this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7gs2o5T7oN8

…and now for something completely the same. But not. Because it has the same name, and again reallllllly intelligent lyrics…but so completely not anything like Stevie’s song…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJCdTcNPcQ8

Admittedly, I’m used to listening to this song, not watching it. I REALLY TRIED to find a clip that didn’t have quite the same level of Velveeta smoooothness that this one did. I mean, honestly…the 80s/90s music fake concert in an abandoned factory video look of the thing nearly had me collapse into an eplieptic fit of giggles. But that aside, the lyrics are most excellent. (<–see what I did there? No? Probably not old enough then. Nevermind.)

But here’s the lyrics. I recommend reading these and listening to the song, not watching the song. I mean, not if you want to take them seriously at least.

And every hour of every day Im learning more\The more I learn, the less I know about before\The less I know, the more I want to look around\Digging deep for clues on higher ground.

Moon and stars sit way up high\Earth and trees beneath them lie\The wind blows fragrant lullaby\To cool the night for you and I\On the wing the birds fly free\Leviathan tames angry sea\The flower waits for honeybee\The sunrise wakes new life in me

And every hour of every day Im learning more\The more I learn, the less I know about before\The less I know, the more I want to look around\Digging deep for clues on higher ground…

The fishes swim while rivers run\Thru fields to feast my eyes upon\Intoxicated drinking from\The loving cup of burning sun\In dreams Ill crave familiar taste\Of whispered rain on weary face\Of kisses sweet and warm embrace\Another time another place

And every hour of everyday Im learning mor\ The more I learn, the less I know about before\The less I know, the more I want to look around\Digging deep for clues on higher ground…

About Camylleon

I don't need gurus, and sure don't want to be one. I'm not here to buy stuff or to sell it. I am just another spiritual wanderer, trying to figure it all out. My blend? A little Santeria, a little Polytheism, a little Spiritism and shake gently. Comments are closed...because I detest drama. I'm not completely anti-social though. If you've got questions, shoot me a email. Camylleon at hotmail dot com...
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

