Cave’s Notes: Everyone Must Get Stoned


Let a new series begin! I’m done with the 101 crap. Everyone and their cousin is doing that. Besides, this AIN’T NO WICCA 101 PAGE! Instead, for your amusement, discussion, and sometimes edification, I introduce “Cave’s Notes.”

Like Cliff’s notes, only deeper…(*groan*)

Everyone, and I do mean everyone, is into stones these days. From shiny well-formed crystals to lumps of rocks, everyone loves them. New agers, fluffy bunnies, white-lighters, heathens, pagans, witches, wiccans, ceremonialists and chaos magicians all grok our mineral brethren. We use them in ritual, wear them for protection, and use them in meditation and in spellwork. Their uses seem endless, they’re easy to find, simple to conceal or explain away, and best yet, real damn pretty too.

The last time I checked there were BAZILLIONS of books on the subject at Amazon. No, seriously here bazillions. I’m using the scientific use of the word as in…far more than fucking enough.

How many of these books are necessary? Well, I’m guessing not that many. In fact, I’m sort of biased on the subject. I can’t claim that my grandma was a witch as some do…but I cantruthfully claim my grandma was a rock hound. More than that. Born at a time when women weren’t really encouraged to work, and certainly not encouraged to indulge in any of the very manly sciences (*snort*), grandma was not only a member of the mineral of the month club and an avid collector of mineral specimens, she could (and would) explain the crystalline formation of nearabout any rock you quizzed her on, and could tell you how those rocks were formed, where on earth you’d be most likely to find them, and where in the sedimentary layer they would be found.

In short, my grandma rocked.

Unfortunately, she passed away when I was twelve or so so I was unable to truly appreciate her appreciation and bond with her over our mutual love of the earth. Fortunately, no one else in the family (except my dad who’s hogged the best specimens) shared in her passion. So, yeah, that was my inheritance. That and the seashell collection.

When I began making jewelry, I really had no interest in the metaphysical properties of stones. However, I found every single person (or nearly) asking me what the energetic usefulness of this, that, or the other stone was. Admittedly, I winged it on more than one occasion as I began studying the subject. Fortunately, I was more often right than wrong.

After I opened the store, I also had the advantage of having a friend who was a real dig-in-the-dirt rockhound. He used to make trips, going around the country, playing in the dirt and bringing his finds back to rock shows to sell. Between my grandma’s collection and books, my own research, and my friend the rockhound, I’ve learned an awful lot. Which I’m going to share with you guys, because you know, I love you.

Back to the bazillion books. As far as metaphysical books go, you can really choose any at all. Honestly. Because if you get too many of them, you’ll probably just end up confused. Everyone is an authority, and everyone has their own blasted opinion. Don’t get mired down too much. Eventually, the uses will be up to you anyway. It’s just a starting point.

I own three of the popular, most often quoted books. “The Crystal Bible,” by Judy Hall,
“Love is in the Earth,” by Melody, and “Healing Crystals and Gemstones,” by Dr. Flora Pescheck-Bohmer.

My quick synopsis/review of these three? Well…”The Crystal Bible” has real pretty pictures but not a lot of information and not a lot of range. “Love is in the Earth” is all-encompassing as far as every mineral I’ve ever heard of…and a few more than actually exist (I’ll get to that). “Healing Crystals and Gemstones” is much like “The Crystal Bible.” Not so many minerals, great pictures, limited information…however this one is well-organized, and also has geographical information as well as crystalline structure and basic chemistry. I find it helpful…if the stone is included.

These are not, however, the best books. Good, sure. But not the best.

My first pick for great books on minerals is the man who started the trend.

http://www.amazon.com/Curious-Precious-Stones-George-Frederick/dp/1161364765/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1343751566&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Curious+Lore+of+Precious+Stones

Original publication back in 1913. Such a hipster. He was into rocks before rocks were cool. But seriously…this is the book other books quote. Sometimes without actually quoting. All the different birthstone charts are in here…and there’s more than just the one Tiffany’s came up with to sell us more fancy jewelry. There’s different cultural birthstones, stones for different days of the week, as well as stones for zodiacal signs.

He also traced the urban myth involving opals…you know the one, that only Scorpios can wear opals because they’re bad luck for the rest of us? Patent nonsense. Apparently, this rumor began with a Victorian novel and just sort of took off. So relax, and wear those opals if you like them.

He points out that our ancient forefathers…or mothers…or whatever…had limited ability to “identify” gemstones, and likely didn’t care all that much. So all green stones were called emeralds, all purple stones were called amethyst, and so forth. Many of the “ancient” uses of stones therefore is related more to the color rather than the actual mineral. Interesting, eh? Oh, and apparently the idea that amethyst is a cure for drunkenness is probably a confusion between amethyst and garnet…garnet being the color of wine. Again, name confusion comes into play. Fascinating.

My rockhound friend turned me onto the next book.

http://www.amazon.com/Book-Sacred-Stones-Fallacy-Crystal/dp/0062509217/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1343751989&sr=1-1&keywords=The+Book+of+Sacred+Stones

This book may annoy my readers on two different points, but I feel it’s well worth it. After all, there is room for logic in witchcraft, if you ask me.

First, the author is very Goddess-centered. Some people will have some trouble with that. Get over it. It’s worth it for this book.

Second, she’s very critical of the “New Age” movement, hostile toward the idea of using crystals for healing in any physical manner, and the third chapter is entirely devoted to the “Real History of Atlantis,” so if you’re in any way, shape, or form partial to believing in Atlantis…you might want to skip that chapter.

Third, despite the title, the author is scathingly critical of other writers of metaphysical gemstone books. Scathingly may even be an understatement. She quotes from many of the older authors…and points out silliness, blatant lies, and outright stupidity. Yes, this includes the ever-popular and well-liked Scott Cunningham. The book was published in 1989 however, so many of the now-popular authors missed her ire. The point is made, however…and made well. I highly recommend this book so that you get a look at the other side…the scientific side, the practical side, the logical side, the side of reason. It also gives you a good idea of why you really don’t need many books on the subject. It’s immediately clear that no two authors agree about what stones are good for what.

On the positive side, she is very pro-meditation and creative visualization, has a true love for minerals, and highly recommends immersing oneself in their beauty to unlock your own subconscious. Which is really cool.

I’m not telling anyone not to work with stones…far from it. My own experiences with stones would have me extolling their virtues to the skies. Selenite alone…well, let’s just say I’m very partial and leave it at that. I’ve experienced the vibrations of stones, even if they don’t “put off energy” as Ms. Walker would claim. But I do believe Pythagoras was right. Everything vibrates. We know that now. We know that there is no such thing as “solid” matter…just slower moving molecules. I do believe that stones can influence us. A lot.

However I also believe that con-men and snake oil salesmen will always take advantage of a believer. Protect yourself. Use that mind of yours. It’s the best tool any of us have.

About Camylleon

I don't need gurus, and sure don't want to be one. I'm not here to buy stuff or to sell it. I am just another spiritual wanderer, trying to figure it all out. My blend? A little Santeria, a little Polytheism, a little Spiritism and shake gently. Comments are closed...because I detest drama. I'm not completely anti-social though. If you've got questions, shoot me a email. Camylleon at hotmail dot com...
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Cave’s Notes: Everyone Must Get Stoned

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    I still think the best teachers of all are the stones themselves. Also, I have been known to sometimes just stop and pick up a random rock because it did something energetically to make me notice it. Just your basic field stones around the farm, old road stones, whatever. They sometimes have the most interesting and complex energies of all.

    • Camylleon says:

      Oh, so true!

      Its funny, because speaking chemically most of the rocks are, technically, quartz. You wouldn’t think it to look at them. That doesn’t mean they’re worthless, by any means! Sometimes it just takes the right person who sees/feels them for what they are to appreciate them.

      • ladyimbrium says:

        I’ve picked a few out of post holes and fields that were pretty obviously quartz. The most important stone I have is a chunk of smoky quartz slightly larger than my fist (terrible quality but still obviously smoky quartz) that we pulled out of the ground when we buried my horse. Maybe because of the horse spirit it came in contact with, but that stone carries me right into a trance state.

        • Camylleon says:

          Smokey quartz is yummy. Interesting thought about the horse spirit, too. Symbolically speaking, horses are often equated with trance states and “riding”…huh…

          I believe you just added yet another layer to stones for me…much pondering will be happening around here for the next hour or two…at least!

  2. nanlt says:

    I don’t have a strong affinity for stones, but sometimes they call to me when I am doing work. Afterwards, I might look up their meaning, usually it corresponds to what I was doing.

    The hubby man is the one who has the strong pull towards rocks and such. They speak to him. When he is doing work he just sits in front of our collection of rocks and waits for them to contact him.

    I am most drawn to the raw stones, not the tumbled and purtied up ones.

    • Camylleon says:

      There’s room for everyone, I keep saying. Some of us dig rocks, some water, some candles or fire (or both), some herbs, some music…

      …and that’s a good thing, if you ask me! 😉

      I like all rocks, honestly. But then, it’s in my blood. I’ve got raw and polished, sparkly crystals and dull specimens you’d think were worthless…but aren’t to me. I guess that’s what matters in the long run. What works for you, what you’re attracted to. Y’know?

  3. Heather S says:

    As an earth sign and a “stoner,” I heartily approve of this blog post. And I have no books on crystal/stone use. O.o I may hail Lady Google for ideas, but usually I just use my hand to wave over the stone and take the one that feels right. It feels like a rush of heat to the palm.

    • Camylleon says:

      That’s how I ultimately choose them, myself. I hate buying stones online…I’d rather buy them in person so I can thrust my hand in there and feel around for just the right one…:-D

      Mine’s more of a tingle to the palm than heat…hmm…

      WHOOOOT for Earth Signs! 😉

  4. Carnivalia says:

    First, let me say that I’m not a proponent of stoning as I imagine that shit *really* hurts. Second, let me say that I don’t do drugz, they’re bad for me. Third, in the same vein, I don’t do stones either. I tried to get into them years back and even had Cunningham’s book on them because I liked his herb one and his incenses/oils one too but none of it really resonated with me. I think this is probably why my pendulums stop working which, in retrospect, says I deserve a good slap in the face for totally forgetting this (lol). I suppose this is why I never made the prayer beads I wanted to make since I totally lacked any real connection with the stones (not to mention the fact stones are, generally speaking, non-renewable a fact which bugs me). In any case, despite my non-stoner status, ’tis a pretty cool post and I’m looking forward to more of the Cave’s notes which some people might’ve chosen to write down on paper but you chose a cave, no biggie.

    Blessings.

    • Camylleon says:

      First…*groan*

      Second…try making beads from herbs and flowers. Rose petal beads are FANTASTIC and the scent can be renewed with rose or geranium oil. Voila! Renewable!

      Third…try a pendulum made of wood or metal. If nothing else, you’ve got a belief that stones don’t work with you that would block your subconscious from taking over. You might be able to bluff it if your pendulum were made out of something else.

      Fourth…*giggle* If you write it on paper, it can dissolve! Like any other good primitive, I’m going to draw on cave walls. You can’t lose them, and they’ll still be there thousands of years later…

      Fifth…Thank you, again! 😀

      • Carnivalia says:

        Using wood beads and such has occurred to me I just haven’t used them because I’m not really called to devotional things. Also, I had no idea people made beads out of rose petals, they look kind of funky (they remind me of horse poo which has a straw-like quality to it) but, hey, they are renewable.

        The pendulum thing I think has more to do with my experience and less with my beliefs (which are few). When it comes to procedures I’m more or less scientific about them and try them, note how they worked (or not) and then make choices regarding their future usage. As I noted before my quartz pendulum was working at one point but has since got awol and, honestly, I’m not fussing about. There are other techniques that can give the same results and that’s why it’s good, if not downright important, to know a few divinatory techniques.

        And yes, I thought you’d say that. Just look at the caves in France. Cave notes ftw. Blessings.

        • Camylleon says:

          Wellllll…you said you wanted renewable, not pretty! They smell far better than they look, btw. 😀

          Actually, the people I learned the whole pendulum thing from think of it as a crutch. It’s beneath them. They’ve all moved on to kinesthesiology…(not sure of the spelling there to be honest…and it’s not exactly the kind of word found in my spell check…lol) I just can’t get behind that because I feel it’s so easily influenced by our will.

          I’m not the one to contradict you here. I’m got my pendulum, my tarot cards, my runes…and a box full of other assorted cards and divination methods. Something for every occasion!

          • Carnivalia says:

            Don’t get me wrong I appreciate the suggestion and I’m wondering if kyphi would work in the same fashion. I think I know what you’re talking about re: the kines..whatever and I know nothing about it, how exactly does it supplant pendulums if you don’t mind me asking?

            Yes, something for every occassion! I have tarot, playing cards, geomancy and the runes are still in progress (I have a thing with them being associated with Odin and whatnot).

            Blessings.

            • Camylleon says:

              No worries! You and I are good…always! 😉 I should think it would work…but I’m not sure. If you try it, I’d look forward to your experimentations…

              Kines…blahblahblah…is “muscle testing.” You’d probably be able to google it & get some photos. It was popular enough for a while…and might still be. Basically, it’s designating one body part…my friend used her thumb. She was always playing with her fingers. lol. The muscle “gives way” when you get the right answer to your question…that’s as simple as I can put it, at least…

              I have NO IDEA WHATSOEVER why I’m drawn to the runes. No Nordic spirit has, of yet, tapped me on the shoulder. And yet I am obsessed…and Polyphanes has tripped my trigger about geomancy so that’s likely the next obsession for me…*sigh* Will it never end??? O.o

              • Carnivalia says:

                Oooh okay. Thanks for the explanation! And no, it will never end! Did you know that folks used to use a form of divination that involved the placement of moles or ‘beauty marks’ on the body? Fun times, lol.

  5. I got yelled at (online) once for asking if there was a good book on stones without all the fluffy horseshit in Melody’s books (the crap she says about Indians alone was enough to make me spit tacks). Before that, I wasn’t much attuned to stones. People were always handing me some rock and asking, “What do you get off that?” to the point where I started to refuse to mess with them, because the answer was always either “nothing” or “a vague little tingle.”

    Then one of our Temple members was visiting on a Saturday. He wanted to go to Golden Temple (which is all we had for a “metaphysical” store before BBCMS opened). I decided to be lazy and let him and Lilith go without me. When they returned, he had a turdy-looking little round rock that he had paid $9 for. Sure enough, he got me to hold out my hand and “see what you get off this.”

    I said, “OK, since it’s you, I’ll play along,” and took the stone in my left hand. Ten seconds passed.

    “Oh. It’s a gateway,” I said, and flopped down on the couch to find out to where. I was gone for 20 minutes, and when I got up, my etheric body had been cleansed and somewhat rearranged. And that’s how I met moqui balls.

    I had way more sensitivity to other stones after that, too. As quickly as I could, I found a wholesale source and got pairs of moqui balls for everyone, at much more reasonable prices.

    And yeah, those do radiate, dammit. Or at least they feel that way. I agree that most of them are more passive than that, but since your own energy field changes by interacting with them, it’s really rather moot.

    • Camylleon says:

      How dare you say anything about Melody? *sarcasm*

      There is some good info in her books…but seriously, it is good information that could be attained from any of the other 7,000 books on the subject without nearly as much filler.

      Besides which, most people eventually don’t even need that information. Seriously. If you’re attuned to the rock, you’ll know what it’s for…and like most of us I think that’s primarily individual in nature. There are some very generalized uses, sure…but they’re not as dramatic as the individual ones. Not by a long shot.

      Agree. They radiate. My interaction with Selenite seems similar to your reaction to moqui balls. The main issue Ms Walker seems to have with the “energy” concept…is that she equates it with “electricity.” I don’t think that the energy radiating is necessarily “electric” or easily gauged by equipment used to measure electricity. We need a new word…but at the same time if any word is ever coined like that, it’s generally laughed at. Ah well, at least we know what we’re talking about…

  6. And lastly, I am LMAO at the thought of Barbara Walker being skeptical. Just sayin’

  7. I liked the post, but am just not into stones. I tried it awhile and can feel the energies just fine, it’s not something that interests me. I do avoid moonstone as I really can’t get on with it’s energies; but I’m so not a moon person.

    Quercus Robur

Leave a Reply

